top of page


Chakras • There are seven main chakras in yoga. They are root (red), sacral (orange), solar plexus (yellow), heart (green), throat (blue), third eye (indigo), and crown (violet). They align with the spine and nervous system. An easy way to remember their corresponding colors is R.O.Y.G.B.I.V. Each chakra also has a corresponding sound vibration and symbol. • What are the chakras? Chakras are in essence, energy centers within the body. Chakra literally translates to “wheel,” or “disk.” When balanced, each chakra provides the right amount of energy to every part of the body, mind, and spirit. While the chakra system was first noted in the Vedas (dating back to 1500-500BC), when overlapped with western scientific anatomy, each chakra can be associated with major bundles of nerves and vital organs within the body. See the list below for each chakra location in the body.